‘Still not sure’: Shane Lowry casts doubt over two-shot penalty decision at Open

  • Irishman penalised for ball roll during practice swing

  • ‘I didn’t want to get slaughtered for being a cheat’

Shane Lowry said he was conscious of his reputation after accepting a two-stroke penalty for a rules infringement during the second round of the Open. Lowry was adamant he did not see his ball roll backwards in rough at the 12th hole during a practice swing, with officials determining he was in breach of the rules of golf.

Lowry was informed of a potential issue on the 15th before detailed discussion after he closed out on the 18th green. Lowry’s 70 became a 72, leaving him 10 adrift of the tournament leader, Scottie Scheffler, with his score on the 12th changed from five to seven.

Continue reading…